Pastoral Structure

As a school we are divided into four houses, Bader, Franklin, Hepworth and Singh.  Each House is named after an influential woman who was a pioneer within her field. 

There are six forms in Year 7 & 12, five forms in Year 8-12. Each form belongs to one house.

  House Head of House
Bader copy Bader Mrs Leamon
Hepworth copy Hepworth Mr Atkins
Franklin copy Franklin Mrs Tiddy
Singh copy Singh Mrs Dhaliwal
Year Group Head of Year Student Manager
7 Miss Redsell Mrs Sneller
8 Miss Schweitzer Mrs Sneller
9 Mr Preston Mrs Fiander
10 Mr Biggenden Mrs Fiander
11 Mr Lennon Mrs Pike
WG6 Miss Smith Mrs Wheatley
Throughout the year, there are competitions held between the houses. Inter-house competitions bring together the students of the school in a fun and competitive way, providing them with an opportunity to show their varied talents. These include whole school competitions planed include Photography, Maths Challenge, Spelling Bee, The Big Quiz and Alternative Olympics.

The house prefects work with the Heads of House and Heads of Department to organise charity fund raising events, sports events, and departmental inter-house competitions throughout the year.


Page Documents Date  
Pastoral Support Team 10th Sep 2021 Download

Pastoral Support

Wilmington Grammar School for Girls promotes positive moral values in a climate of high expectations and achievement among all the individuals and groups, based on mutual respect. We are committed to working together to celebrate diversity and promote equality.

Pupils exhibit self-control, personal responsibility and self-worth, developed in the classroom and through a wide range of extra-curricular activities. Pupils learn, grow and succeed in an atmosphere of praise and encouragement which promotes a sense of belonging and enjoyment for everyone.  The school is one where all people, students and adults alike, can achieve their full potential regardless of ethnic group, gender, socio-economic background, religion, culture or disability.

Pastoral care is an integral part of the whole educational experience offered to our pupils and is not a distinct entity. It underpins every aspect of the pupils' experience in school, and exists, not for its own sake, but to enable pupils to achieve their potential.

We aim to offer the best possible pastoral care by providing support and guidance for pupils in an environment which is characterised by good relationships, mutual respect and tolerance. 

The Pastoral Care system will provide academic and emotional support and help to promote good discipline and challenge unacceptable behaviour.

The individual guidance and welfare of pupils is provided through a pastoral system as seen in the diagram below.


On entry to the school each pupil is allocated to a form group with a Form Tutor who has daily contact with the pupils and is responsible for dealing with day to day matters, as well as monitoring overall progress and providing educational guidance. All girls undertake a programme of Learning for Life which is designed to help them become more aware of themselves and others, be able to assess their own progress and improve their learning. The L4L programme is planned around the cross-curricular elements of the National Curriculum to develop the emotional and physical health and well-being of students.

Form Tutors are supported by Heads of Year and the Deputy Head who works closely with the SENDCO, Head Teacher, parents, support services and welfare services.

Pupils experiencing difficulties due to health or personal reasons will be given extra support and may have their timetables reduced/amended if required. (See Pupils with Medical Needs Policy.) Monitoring and tracking of pupils takes place throughout the year and is the responsibility of the Head of Year. The Head of Year communicates regularly with parents, the pastoral support team and the Deputy Head.

Please see the separate section of Student Support to see more on the support we offer to individual students with identified needs.