Blog week ending 11th January

Posted on: 11/01/2019

Dr Beth Rolf, a veterinary surgeon (sister of Miss Rolf, from our science department) came in to speak with those of our students specifically interested become a veterinarian.  Dr Rolf, with the help of her dog Mia, talked the students through a clinical examination in terms of what to look out for and how to conduct the examination.  Dr Rolf shared invaluable advice on university applications and the interview process as well as helpful tips on meaningful work experience to aid their future studies.  This was a hugely beneficial session which the students found incredibly useful.

Y12 Chemistry students are currently studying enzymes.  They have designed their own practical, together with the associated hypothesis to investigate the effect of temperature on an enzyme action.

 

The WGSG football teams played after-school fixtures this week putting on an impressive display of technique and commitment.   

The Wilmington 1st team students put out a passionate display winning all 4 of their games 4-0. Lily Humphreys saying that striker was not her position and then developing into a little shooting demon gained her player of the match as the determination was incredible to see.

Eleanor R, Rachel M, Leah N, Riya T, Loren S and Lily H

The Wilmington 2nd team students showed amazing teamwork and communication (especially as some had only playing football a handful of times) and really demonstrated their love of sport. Sonia consistently put pressure on the other team and managed to score 2 goals gained her the player of the match title.

Unfortunately, the score did not reflect their game play and they won 2 games but also lost 2 games.

Sophia O, Keiko T, Christabel, Newisrael N, Paula U and Sonia O

All are welcome at our PFA Quiz night on the 9th February, details are as per our poster below and the booking form can be found on our website in the left hand documents list on the website here  We hope to see you there.

The term dates for the next academic year 2019/2020 have been confirmed as below and can be viewed on the school website under News & Events, Term Dates here

Autumn Term

Tuesday 3rd September – Friday 18th October  (1st day year 7 and 12 only)

34

Half term  Monday 21 October – Wednesday 30 October

 

Thursday 31 October – Friday 20 December

36

 

 

Spring Term

Monday 6th January – Friday 14th February

30

Half term Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February

 

Monday 24th February – Friday 27th March

25

 

 

Summer Term

Wednesday 15th April – Friday 22nd May

27

Half term Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May

 

Monday 1st June –  Wednesday 22nd July

38

 

190 days

 

Confirmed Staff Training Dates:

  1. Monday 2nd September 2019
  2. Monday 25th November 2019
  3. Tuesday 14th April 2020
  4. Thursday 23rd July 2020
  5. Friday  24th July 2020

 

Y8 Students have been practicing artist styles and techniques ahead of producing commissioned pieces which will raise funds for their next project.  Their work is on display on the second floor corridor.

   

Congratulations to Daisy L of 8O who competed in the London International Horse show at Olympia this Christmas. Daisy was paired with international rider Laura Renwick, both Laura and Daisy jumped a course of jumps in front of a massive audience. Only 8 children in total qualified from the UK. Daisy’s round was the timed aspect of the course and they finished in 5th Place with a great clear round. A truly memorable experience.